My Blog of Life!

Hello World!

Well, although it’s taken me quite a bit of time and frustration,  here it is at last, my very first blog post!  Woohoo!!  I can’t believe I can finally write and publish my thoughts right here for all to see.  It’s actually a bit daunting when you think about it, but I am thrilled to pieces!  Thank you so much for joining me in my journey.

With this being my first post, I want to dedicate this and all my future posts in memory of my beloved mother.  She was my mentor, my best friend and the glue that kept everything in our family together.  We lost her after November 25, 2015.  She had a hemmorhagic stroke 5 weeks earlier and started to recover somewhat before complications from infection set in.  She passed away in hospice after 2 weeks without nourishment of any kind.  She passed away peacefully while I held her hand.  It was my brother’s birthday.  I believe she waited for that.  It was 12:38 AM.  We are still healing.

As I said before, my mom was my mentor.  She was an incredibly amazing and vivacious woman.  At 85, she and my dad would go for their walks everyday.  She loved to play bridge and golf.  She was the life of every room she entered.  She taught me everything I know, but I often didn’t listen.  I learned to listen over the years, but we would still disagree sometimes.  What family doesn’t have minor disagreements!  She used to love to talk about the 2 things she always said you should never talk about… religion and politics!  If you agreed with her, you were great, but the older she got, the less tolerant she became of those who didn’t agree, although never to their face.  If she loved you, she loved you and she would fight to the death for you.  You just might not be aware of that fact.  To your face, at least if you were her child, you might hear the words, “you should be more like so and so”.

One thing mom used to always tell me growing up, especially when I was a pain in the backside, which was a lot as a teenager, was “one day you’ll realize that I’m your best friend”.  I finally did and was really enjoying our fabulous adult relationship when, out of nowhere, in 5 weeks she was gone.  Those 5 weeks were long but not long enough.  They were so special and stressful all at the same time.  I couldn’t even explain all the emotions that occurred in those few weeks, but if God had to take mom from us, I’m so grateful that I had that time to be with her.  I miss her every single day and will for the rest of my life.

I could write volumes about my mom.  She and I may have had some differences from time to time, but I can tell you that I was the luckiest little girl in the world the day my mom and dad brought me home and called me their own.  I love you always and forever mom. Keep an eye on us all.  Until we meet again. xoxo

  Always,

Deirdre

One thought on “My Blog of Life!

Leave a Reply

