The House of Crazy Gets a Makeover

In our home, we have lived with mismatched everything for years. Life just gets so hectic that making the house beautiful and making it ours just was something that was put on the backburner. Well, after mom died, I decided that enough was enough and I was done living in a house that didn’t feel like our home.

We were always so busy with work and the kids’ activities. I finally had some time away from work and a deep desire to make this all work. The problems were where to begin and how to afford to make the changes affordable. My first research project was at Lowe’s. My second was the plethora of sites online to give me inspiration. Pinterest, as usual, became my best friend. My husband even said, “Honey, you don’t have to do every project you find on Pinterest.” My reply was, “but of course I do”.

After researching on Pinterest, I decided to begin repurposing furniture. I stenciled like a madwoman! Everything I did turned out great! My father thought I had a new coffee table until I told him I had simply painted it and stenciled it with lace. It turned out so well, especially since I had never done something like this before.  I love it. I did the same thing with a bookcase and a large cabinet. Above is a picture of the bookcase. No, not everything is in the same room. That would be a little overkill.

The next thing I did was make new lampshades. Well, I covered them with fabric to update them and make them match the new decor. I am finally going to have a decor when I’m done! Goodbye hodgepodge! I also got my craft diva crown on and went to town painting mason jars for above my kitchen cabinets. I plan on finding some inexpensive flowers to place in the mason jars to accent the new colorful “vases” I have created. I also distressed some darker metal objects, like lamps that had texture and a large vase.

My daughters helped me make some new pictures, 4 to be precise.  Painting the scene of a tree on each canvas, we decorated each with buttons to match the decor I will have in the living room then we made them into the 4 seasons.  So easy and cute!  It was also a great way to get them involved in the creative process.  My youngest daughter is extremely artistic and extraordinarily talented in her craft.  She is able to draw and paint incredibly well, but this was my project so she added just a bit of her mad painting skills.  My second daughter claims to be artistically challenged, but did an awesome job in this crafting realm. We had such fun working on this project together and watching some shows that she loves while the Superbowl was on.  What a great way to bond.

Those were the fun and easy projects. They didn’t cost more than a few dollars each. They didn’t take much time either and they were a blast to do!  The best part is that you can use any color you like to paint.  All you need to do is pick a color palette that you want to work with and stick to those colors in varying shades.  I am blessed to be good with colors, or so I’m told I’m good with colors.

Then there was the world’s ugliest kitchen floor that had to be dealt with. Well, me being me, why not update the whole kitchen, but how can we afford to do that on a dime! The answer to my flooring problem will last for a good while and was easy enough for my husband and I to accomplish. So far, we’ve had compliments by every one who has seen it. Peel and stick tile. We’ve done this before and it’s much easier than ceramic. It is a great weekend project to do. We painted and pulled off a cabinet that had no purpose in life but to be awkward. So far it looks great. We aren’t finished yet, but those few new features are fabulous! I’m so happy to finally be getting a kitchen that looks expensive but at an affordable cost to me. So refreshing! Now off to put my new countertops in place! Yippee! Let’s just hope my husband and I can survive that one!

If you have questions about how to do any of these projects, just ask me. This is my favorite pastime! I’d be happy to answer any questions.

Leave a Reply

