Decorating DIY Diva or is that DYI?

I love a good project! How can I not want to work on some new idea for improving my home? The problem is that I often have so many projects going on at the same time! Well, I just have so many cool ideas floating around in my head and I want to try them all! Sometimes it’s a bit overwhelming and a bit daunting once I get into working on it. Most of the time I persevere and accomplish something that I’m pleased with, but not always.

One of the projects I’m working on right now is just one of those projects. It’s a great big ugly chair. It was once the most amazingly comfortable, oversized chair ever, but now, it’s a sad, old, partially disassembled mess. Who knew that those stupid staples would be giving me such fits of fury and frustration! I even purchased the material. I’m winging it on this one because I’m guessing how much material I’ll really need. I have recovered a chair before, just not attempted to disassemble one and rip every bit of fabric off of it first! AAgggghhhh! Calgon, take me away!

I admit, I’m absolutely procrastinating on this one. I’ve got to just go for it, really am not looking forward to the frustration again. They’ve put material in places I can’t even imagine them being able to do! Did I mention that I have no upper body strength? That is no help whatsoever on this project. I need muscles right now. I know if I ask my saintly husband to help me, he will, after a certain amount of grumbling. He always grumbles about having time to sit down for 5 minutes which turns into 2-3 hours when he gets home from work. I’m always wanting things done right now. It’s amazing that we work as well as we do together, but we do!

You may be asking what the DYI is for? Do Yourself In instead of Do It Yourself! This happens to me, either when I have a project like said demon chair or when I work on 3-4 projects in one day! I’ve been known to do that too. I’ll sometimes stay up until the wee hours of the night working on something. It may even be researching how to do something, but it will do me in every time. I’ll be so tired the next day that I’m ready to kick myself in the backside for being so silly!

I suppose I’ve procrastinated enough for now. Back to doing myself in with either the chair or painting the china hutch. Either way, I’ve been procrastinating on both projects and today is the day to work on both! I’ll post pictures as soon as I have taken them!

Until next time, happy daydreaming!

Deirdre

Leave a Reply

