My Boy and his Passion for Hockey

How fast they grow up.  We, as parents often think this and say this to other parents.  I am the mother of 4 wonderful kids and my only boy is the youngest of the crew.  He is almost 9 and in 3rd grade.  He also has ADHD which makes life interesting to say the least.

There are days when I think I want to just throw in the towel and call it quits on this whole parenting gig because no one will listen to me, but even those days I go to bed at night feeling like this is the best job in the world.  It’s definitely the toughest one though.  My girls are growing up so fast.  It seems like yesterday that I was bringing my oldest daughter home for the first time.  She will be 20 in just a few months which is so hard to believe.  Where did the time go? Her sisters are 18 and 14, so life is still very busy in our house. As I said before, just where did the time go?

This post isn’t about time passing though.  This is about my little guy and his passion for hockey.  He has played soccer and baseball.  He dreams of playing football ALL the time, but last fall, he started “Learn to Play” at our local ice rink.  It’s a great program for kids ages 3-14 to learn to play hockey.  We were able to rent the equipment, thankfully, and he gets to keep the stick!  Good thing, although he already wants a curved stick!  There is a test that is given at the end of each session.  Each session is 7 weeks and he’s now completed both of the learning to play sessions! He loves it!

I have never had to bribe him to go to hockey.  I’ve had to call him off the rink so that he didn’t stay out there for the entirety of the second session at times.  He has just eaten this one up.  Even though he has to take Metadate for his ADHD to help him focus, he’s been able to perform on the ice without taking it.  We tried this and he is so focused on what he is doing on the ice that I can’t wait to see what he does next!  He practices at home with his rollerblades, his stick, and a tennis ball.  He practices with a miniature stick and tiny foam ball from a set made for little kids.  He just can’t get enough!

He knows that this is my favorite sport to watch which might be part of the reason he is into it, but I have never seen him focus on any sport he’s played like he does when he is on the ice.  He will be playing games next, but not on the whole rink, much to his dismay.  He is fast and he actually fights for the puck which he really didn’t do very much of with the soccer ball.  I’ve seen something light up in this child like never before.  I can’t wait for the next chapter as a hockey mom.

He will still be playing other sports as well, but I think he has found HIS sport.  His ADHD is controlled well when he needs help to focus on something with his medication, but it’s so nice for him to have something that he truly loves that he doesn’t need that medication for.  He’s a great boy.  He is full of shenanigans at times, but is also my loving, snuggly boy when he wants to be.  If your child has ADHD, try finding some activity that he or she loves and you will see a different child.  I promise.  It took us 8 years, but I wish he had hockey everyday!

One thought on “My Boy and his Passion for Hockey

Leave a Reply

