Taking Care of Our Own

image

These middle years are so very busy! It really is exhausting at times. As I write this, I’m sitting in the ophthalmologist’s office with my dad.  He had a really cool eye surgery 3 weeks ago and here we are for another post-op visit. Hopefully this will be the day the suture will be removed and we will find out if the new cornea works. Hopefully, he will be able to see.

When we are finished waiting to see the great physician, about 2 hours from now, we will drive over to see my aunt’s and have a cup of tea and some lunch before making the 2 hour trek home again.

So far, that places this day at 7-8 hours, 4 of which are spent driving. If this was all that I had going on for my day it would be enough, but it’s not.

When I get home, it’s time to make sure homework is done for the youngest one then head off to the high school to help out with the 78 kids in their production of Footloose. I’m one of hair and makeup moms!

It’s a crazy, busy schedule but it is tech week and that means exhaustion for everyone. It also means late night trips to Wal-Mart and trips to Starbucks for coffee and refreshers and green teas.

This is what it means to be in the middle years of life, pulled in all directions, all the time. Balancing is sometimes so hard and sometimes nearly impossible. I find myself having to ask my husband to help and my brother to help with dad sometimes even when I like being in control. It is designating and delegating that must be done. This is what family is all about though and I wouldn’t have it any other way. If you don’t care for your own, who will?

One thought on “Taking Care of Our Own

  1. So true–I remember my parents going through the “sandwich years,” where they were still raising us but caring for their elderly parents. What a busy busy time! Happy to hear you have your brother for help with your dad too. That in itself can be a huge help!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

