It’s Finally Spring

Finally after another winter, it’s spring.  I have to tell you that this is always my favourite time of year.  Nothing brings me more joy than the sound of songbirds in the early morning, the sun shining and a nice hot coffee in my hand.  This is love.  I’ve always been this way.

Spring to me is a time of renewal, a time of rebirth for me.  I am not a big fan of winter, although I appreciate it.  I do enjoy a nice snow as long as I’m inside and have the tools to build a cozy fire and make some s’mores with the kids.  The problem comes when you have to go outside in the cold and muck.  Driving in snow, although interesting, is no fun, as people forget to slow down and more accidents occur due to excess speed or failure to apply their brakes early enough.  The world, at large, is just in too much of a hurry.

Spring, on the other hand, is different.  Yes, we have our rain and thunderstorms, as well as tornados where I am, but those sunny days with the birds singing to each other make up for everything.  Even the rain showers can be enjoyable if it is truly a shower and nothing more.  The weather warms and you know that summer is just around the corner.

I am so grateful for each season I have on this earth and I try, probably unsuccessfully, to instill this in my children.  I think this is not something that can be learned.  You’ve either got it or you don’t.  Regardless, take yourself away right now.  Close your eyes, listen to the birds’ songs. Smell the gentle scents of spring as you step outside.  The air is cleaner than it was just a couple of weeks ago.  The grass becomes lush and green almost overnight.  The daffodils are in bloom and the tulips are right behind them.  Take a moment out of your busy day today and each day, and appreciate this beautiful world we live in. Spring has sprung!  Don’t let it pass by without at least acknowledging it!  Surround yourself in the beauty of nature.  Go for a walk in the park today and really look around and take notice.  You won’t be sorry.  I promise.

One thought on “It’s Finally Spring

Leave a Reply

