Ah the Green

 

40 shades of green
40 Shades of Green in Ireland

Green, the color of lush grass on a beautiful spring day.  The color of St. Patrick’s Day and the strange color they dye the river in Chicago. The color of a cat’s eyes. It comes in so many shades.  From kelly green, to emerald, to olive and mint green.  The colors are endless and bring about so many different feelings.

With the color green there are also different tags attached.  People hear being green and they think of recycling.  They think of being kind to the environment.  We think of the Green political party.  We even think of the symbol for recycling.

We think of being green with envy, or the green eyed monster of jealousy.  So many implications for one little color.  I love the color green but not under those circumstances. I’m not into jealousy or envy.  I wish being green had a good emotion attached!

green
Many shades of green

My favorite implication for the color green is all that comes from those associated with my favorite country, Ireland.  Ireland is the home of my family.  In Ireland, it is true that there are at least 40 shades of green.  The Aran Isle is one of the most beautiful and colorful places you could ever see.  This is the place that makes me happiest, besides being in Southwest Florida!

So, as you can see, green isn’t just a color anymore!  It has many connotations.  For me, I’ll always think good things about green.  I love it just like my dad does.  He even has a green front door and green carpet.  He’s a good Irishman.  Gotta love him! I do.

20141107_163830_HDR
Dad and I on a sunset cruise in Florida 2015

Leave a Reply

