My Glass Runneth Over

slide5_1aff4jh-1aff4ld

I have been thinking about all the blessings I’ve been given in my life and I have to tell you, I’ve been truly blessed.   I was adopted when I was 5 days old by the 2 greatest parents a girl could ever ask for.  I don’t have much information about my birth parents and many people might think that to be strange in this society.  To me, I’ve always been an optimist.  My glass is more than half full.  It’s overflowing with the kindness of my parents and my family and friends.  I don’t expect things out of them.  I work hard to raise my kids.  I work hard at having a good marriage.  I realize I am a difficult person to live with, but I’m blessed by those I’m surrounded by.  What more could a girl ask for?

When I saw this quote from Oprah Winfrey, I knew immediately that this was the first quote I would use for my 3 quote challenge.  I love Oprah.  She is a woman who came from nothing and made so much for herself.  She worked incredibly hard and had such determination through such otherwise insurmountable obstacles throughout her life.  I can’t even imagine how she was able to always keep such an optimist and beautiful view of life, but she did.  She has also always been such a generous person, helping those who really needed help, just like Ellen DeGeneres does, as well.  I just admire both of them so much with each of the struggles they have faced, they have done it with dignity, something that so many people seem to lack these days.

I always try to keep my optimistic view of life and never forget the blessings I have in my life.  I may not have everything I would like to have, but I have everything I need.  I have a home to live in and keep my family safe, a car to get around and be hockey mom in, a new job that I will be starting on Monday, which I’m really excited about, food to feed my family, a family that loves me and a husband that I adore.  What more could I ever possibly need?  Of course, I could use more money, a more updated house, a cleaner house, a smaller waistline and extra time in my day, but really those are just desires, not things that are necessary to make me happy.

I can’t say that this is the way I always have seen the world.  I used to think I needed a bigger house and the small waistline to make my life really happy, but I’ve been on a journey, of sorts.  It’s been something that I think many people go through.  I can’t say I’ve ever really been a materialistic person.  My mom always commented on that.  The thing is, I was like most people in that I thought I needed more money to be happier.  I discovered somewhere along the way that it was more time spent with my family that was the most important.

My husband always says that when you are lying on your death bed, you aren’t going to say, “Gee, I wish I’d spent more time at the office”.  He’s absolutely right.  What is it that you really want in life?  For me, it is to be more grateful of the time I have with my kids and my husband.  I think of how my children are growing up and in no time they will be all out of the house and it will just be the two of us.  Just Hubs and me.

When I finally realized this, it dawned on me that no matter how much money I make, it will never really be enough, but the hours I was working at my previous job was tearing my family to bits.  I wasn’t home enough to be a mom and a wife.  I had my own mental breakdown and things got messy for awhile for other reasons totally unrelated.  I became much stronger than I ever imagined I could be.  I realized in the time I had away from work, however, that I needed a job with more flexibility and much better hours.  I start that job on Monday.  I can’t wait.  I’ve never looked forward to starting a new job so much. I still have the trepidation that goes along with starting something new, but I’ll be okay.  It’s just the newness of it all.  I’ll fit in soon enough and then I’ll be grand.

So, this quote of looking at what I have and not what I haven’t got just really struck me.  It reminded me of how truly wonderful my life is.  I have everything I need and really everything I want.  The other things, well, Hubs and I can work on those things.  Those are just icing on the cake of life.  As long as I have him, I can do anything.  He truly is my better half, and yes, he really does complete me.

2 thoughts on “My Glass Runneth Over

  1. Congratulations…You will be grand, because you are grand!…And, such a lovely post…optimism, wisdom, inspiration, wonderful perspective, personal anecdotes that allow us to get to know you better, a measure of open-hearted vulnerability, sweetness, kindness, and generosity…thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

