Anxiety Be Gone

download (5)
A great quote which also works for anxiety!

Ah, I can smell the roses today.  Well, figuratively anyway.  My roses are not in bloom yet, as it is mid spring in my part of the world.  I’ve have a wonderful day today at my first day of my new job.  I was very anxious this morning as I set off to work.  You know the heart racing, nearly in tears kind of anxiety.  I am here to say, I’ve made it through and it turned out to be a good day.  In fact, I’m glad I’m there.  I will miss many things about my old job for sure, but I believe I made the right choice.  At least today, I think I did.

I will miss many things about my old job.  I will miss my friends dearly.  Over the last 10 years, I’ve made some wonderful friends.  I will miss my patients and the actual job itself, but I will not miss the hours.  The hours I spent working at my old job were getting ridiculous, granted, the paychecks were great and I will miss those very much.  I had to make a choice though of what was most important, money or time with my family.  I chose family.

I know I need to work to support my family.  I know that in these hectic, expensive times, it’s very rare that a family can manage on just one income which is why I work.  If my husband made enough, I would stay home.  As it is, we will be making more sacrifices due to my pay cut, but my time with my family is worth that as is my mental health.  I am cutting down my hours as well as changing jobs, although I’m still a registered nurse.

0173083_l-e1349186636200
Loved this series as a child

I have been a home health nurse for many years.  I’ve cared for a great number of people in my time of all ages, but mostly I’ve cared for children.  Now, I’ll be working for a clinic in a float position in surgery, speciality and cardiology departments.  I’m looking forward to these new challenges and I know I can do it, but it’s scary to me.  It is something that brings out my anxiety.  The good thing is I know how to accept that I have anxiety and I know how to deal with it.  Several months ago, I had a very difficult time doing that, but now, I’m stronger and much better able to handle this wicked monster.  I will prevail and anxiety will not win.  I’m stronger than it is.

2 thoughts on “Anxiety Be Gone

Leave a Reply

