Prom, Show Tunes and Missing Mom

image

Another night of sleeplessness.  I am so sick of insomnia.  If only I had it when it was convenient, like during the day!  I could sleep every afternoon, no problem, but that’s not going to work! Today was a fairly good day for me until later this afternoon, just before having to go take pictures for my daughter’s senior prom.  she looked stunning.  Granted, I’m her mother and I always think she’s stunning, but today, she was exceptionally stunning.  I started feeling a bit under the weather just before it was time to leave and felt that it was best for me to lay down and rest for a bit.  She was not pleased, but then again, I felt like a schmuck.  Loser mom.  I mean, who misses out on those once in a lifetime chances? Luckily, I have my backup, Hubs.image

My daughter had her daughter had her best friend come over this morning for the pre-prom preparations.  It started with coffee, then they did facials, nails, hair and makeup.  Our house was a magnificent and extremely messy beauty salon.  My oldest daughter is home for the weekend and joined in the preparations as well.  Such excitement!  The girls had show tunes blaring while they sang along during the various beauty treatments.  I even joined in as well.  Let me tell you about these girls.  They can sing and they sing REALLY well! They all have the voices of angels.  I have heard songs from Annie, Guys and Dolls, Wicked, Hairspray, Little Shop of Horrors, Les Miserables, Phantom of the Opera and so many others.

images (45)

My Oldest Daughter had a lead in Guys and Dolls and when they played one of songs she sang, I got teary eyed and just started thinking about that show and then about my mom.  Mom flew from Florida 3 years ago to see Emma in that show.  She would have done the same this year to see Clare in her lead in Footloose.  Just thinking about it now makes me nostalgic, sentimental, and sad that she isn’t here.  She should be here for days like today.  Days where her granddaughters look so incredibly beautiful.  It’s just not fair.  It’s not fair that we have to lose our moms.  I need her.  I will always need her.

images (52)

And so, here I am, my tummy feeling a bit better than it was after a rest.  My oldest daughter out with her friend, my second daughter at her senior prom with her boyfriend and my youngest one gone for the weekend.  My home which used to be filled with so much craziness, has only Hubs and the Boy and me in it tonight.  I like the peace and quiet, but at the same time, I do sometimes miss the kids being little and needing their younger and more energetic mom. Sometimes.

6 thoughts on “Prom, Show Tunes and Missing Mom

  1. Oh, how I love your writing….it is everything writing should be…and, what a wonderful family you have….what a beautiful day…you painted such a vivid picture that I really felt what you shared…and, I had the experience of being transported to another place and time…now, that is talent, Deirdre 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s a hard thing when you are left wondering “who cares….likes, etc”…but, think of all the great writers (artists…creatives of all types) who were rejected before their talents were embraced on grand scales….that’s why we have each other…we are the ones who see the greatness in each other–and encourage each other–when it would seem that our love of what we do does not match our ability…trust me, you have a gift for writing and for connection that is so wonderful and valuable… 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

