Writing Poetry and Being a Nurse

I haven’t been writing much poetry lately, but in these wee hours of the night, I sometimes find myself doing just that.  I am a nurse by profession, yet I have never written one poem about being a nurse.  It’s scary sometimes to be a nurse even when you’re very experienced.  I know this because I’ve been in the field of nursing since I was 17 years old.  That was nearly 30 years ago.  Man, am I old! Please, you don’t have to be that quick to agree! Anyway, I digress.

Brooke-webTonight, I wrote a short poem about a nurse who is starting a new job.  In fact, it’s her first day on the job.  How scary, especially if you are a new nurse.  I still remember that feeling all these years later.  In fact, I have dreams sometimes that I’m working at one of my former jobs but I’m late or not where I should be.  It’s usually some variant on the same theme.  I don’t have them often, but they usually happen when I’m feeling anxious about something at work or most recently because I just started my new job.  I’m not a job hopper so I don’t change jobs frequently.  That would just freak me out! Once you know your job, it’s hard to make that leap of faith and learn new things again, I think.

This is the basis of my latest poem, simply titled, “The Nurse”. I’ve been asked, by Hubs, if I would want to go back to hospital nursing on the floor.  My answer to him was a resounding “NO”. I loved my time on the floor, but I’m not sure my back or my feet could handle that anymore.  I love the setting I’m in now.   If you would be interested in reading my poetry, please visit my blog at https://wordpress.com/post/myblogforlife.wordpress.com/2360. I encourage you to leave me some feedback on anything you read there.  I don’t get much traffic, in fact, I rarely get any traffic and even rarer still do I receive comments.   I look forward from hearing from you very  much! As for me, I’m finally going to sleep now.  Many blessings my friends.

 

5 thoughts on “Writing Poetry and Being a Nurse

  1. Thank you for sharing, i also find myself not writing about some of the most important things in my life , like religion, or my school lifeand i wonder why! i also am going for my clinicals for the first time and am very anxious! i will check out your poem soon!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

