If We Were Having Coffee

happy-nurseIf we were having coffee, I would tell you how much I love our coffee weekends.  I know I’m new to this, but I’ve been looking forward to this all week. It’s been a busy week. I would tell you that I’m glad I made the change from my other job.  This job will eventually become my home just as my last job was.  It’s always hard to leave home, even when you know it’s for the best.  I will always treasure my memories and my friendships that I made there.  I was there for a long time.  It’s hard to say goodbye, but luckily, I keep in touch with my friends.  My new job is completely different from my old job.  I’m refreshed when I think about it.  I don’t dread going to work, not that I did with my old job, but I knew I would be completely drained by the end of the day, devoid of any energy to do or be anything more than a blob of mush in my bed.  Once I have learned how to do my new job properly, I think, think, mind you, that I will actually still have the energy at the end of the day to be a wife and mother.  I know I’ll be home by 5:20pm everyday and not some unknown time.  That gives me peace of mind.  It also pleases my husband and my children. I am refreshed and renewed.  Who knew?  And to think I put this off for so long!

wp-1461835552717.jpegIf we were having that coffee that we so enjoy, I’d tell you that I have a newly nine year old boy this week!  Yep, the Boy turned nine on Wednesday. He was thrilled with his new hockey gear and even got some early, just by a day, so he could use it for Tuesday’s night’s game.  He even received new blue laces for his skates.  Now, even in his uniform, I can pick him out by his skate laces and his stick.  We had to do some spiffy taping on the stick to make it “cool”.  Sure, he received some clothes which he actually was very excited about.  Yes, he’s an odd boy who likes clothes. He practiced gratitude which pleased me tremendously!  I didn’t even have to remind him to be grateful.  He even got new boxers as a present because he has decided that the briefs are annoying and he’d rather just go without than wear them. Lord help me, please! Since receiving the boxers, however, he’s thrilled to bits and no complaints in the undergarment department!

wp-1461887341942.jpegI would give you the latest update on our little squirrel friend, Dexter.  He is thriving!  Dexter is still not weaned.  Typical baby boy, just like my human boy, wanting to hold on to “mama” as long as he can, I suppose.  He now sucks down anywhere from 10-20ml of squirrel formula at a time several times a day.  Usually, he takes about 15 ml. He’s a good little squirrel but he does poop a lot, especially if he’s sitting on your shoulder.  Luckily it’s very tiny and solid and easy to pick up.  He is still on his calcium supplement for his calcium deficiency, but we have been able to lower the dose.  He loves to climb, skitter around his cage and jump from person to person.  He’s tried climbing up my curtains, but we caught him and that was the end of that.  Soon, we will hopefully be able to release him.  It will be difficult to say goodbye, but I have a feeling we will be seeing him a lot in our yard, especially looking for his squirrel biscuits.

 

12 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee

  1. It is a rare beautifully-sunny day today…and your offering is giving the sun’s warmth a run for its money….I know I keep repeating myself, but I just love your posts…I just love them….and am so happy for you and your family….it’s so wonderful when things fall into place (which often comes as a result of persevering in the face of challenges, insecurities, risk-taking, hard work etc.)….and, Dexter is beyond adorable…you are, literally, a life saver…how awesome is that?! See you next time, my friend..thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for coming to share some coffee time with me today! I enjoy hearing from you so very, Very much. You brighten my day so much my friend! If you saw Dexter now. You would laugh. He is curled up in a tiny dog sweater and pokes his head out of the arm hole to check what he hears occasionally! So precious!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Weekend coffee? I see posts like this on occasion, I’m not sure where they come from, another daily post type of board?

    I enjoyed coffee time with you. I have three sons, they *all loved to pick out their clothes (still do) and are quite particular in what they wear. All three built differently and different tastes. lol maybe I let them get away with that more because there were no girls in the house? I had the brief / boxer issue too! Had to be boxers. Too funny. Enjoyed reading about Dexter, do you do rehab? I’ll have to go back through and see if I find more posts. – Sounds like you are also very happy with new new career choice. Good for you! I was so happy to get the job I now have, ten minutes from home. What a change. ~ Have a good weekend!
    Blessings,
    Laurie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and happy weekend to you dear friend! I rehab whatever small furry creatures the kids bring in. The coffee posts can be found in The Daily Post site. Thank you for having coffee with me and sharing some time together!

      Like

Leave a Reply

