Having Coffee on Mother’s Day

image

If we were having coffee today, I’d tell you how grateful I am for family, my family. This Mother’s Day was a hard one. It’s the first one without my dear and lovely mother. I miss her so very much, but she is with me still, in my heart.

My brother commented that now I’m the only mother in our immediate family. That shook me a little bit. My dad looked a bit sad today but said he was fine. My husband, who lost his mom 11 years ago, made my day extra special. These men are my fiercely brave protectors. They are my rocks. Words could never describe my love and gratitude for them. I am who I am because of them.

My children made my day today by spoiling me! How could any mother be so blessed! My oldest daughters made special, amazingly delicious brunch delicacies. I have more than likely gained 10 pounds from sheer yumminess today alone. My son made me gifts that brought me years of sheer joy. All four tidied up twice today and showered me with love.

20151128_123355.jpg

I miss my mom everyday but I know she is in heaven looking down on us all. I miss her voice, our long conversations that could solve all the world’s problems. I miss her laugh which would light up the room. I miss her hugs that would envelop me and let me know all was alright. I miss her hands. She could do anything with those hands yet they were beautiful. Mom, if you can read this in heaven, happy mother’s day. I love you and will always until the end of time.

3 thoughts on “Having Coffee on Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

