Who Are We Really?

Ever wonder where life is taking you? It’s a journey we all take and yet we all take it separately, following our own special paths.  My journey started on its path years ago as an unexpected pregnancy.  I was given up for adoption and I was subsequently adopted by the most amazing parents.  Since then, so many wonderful things have happened.  I have been very blessed.  Not everyone has a path like mine. Some days I ponder how we all get to where we are in our lives.  What drives us to make the choices we make and what motivates us to get up in the morning. Today is one of those days.

For me, I can only say that I am a nurturer, a natural born caregiver.  That is why I have a houseful of kids and a houseful of animals.  There are moments that make me wonder what is wrong with me, but I realize there really isn’t anything wrong.  I just am true to myself.  It’s taken years to accept myself as I am and sometimes I still struggle, but I’m content to consider myself a work in progress.

One theory is that we are products of our environments.  I consider that I am, but I also consider that we are more than that.  We are made up of so much more.  If I had been raised in a different environment, I would still like music.  I would still have musical talents.  I would still be able to sing well, however, I may not have had the opportunities to take piano lessons or perform as I have.  I would still love animals.  I would still have animals.  If I lived in a different environment, I more than likely wouldn’t have a squirrel sitting on my head as I’m writing this, however.

20160509_173508.jpg

I could have grown up on the other side of the world in a slum and had no opportunities.  I could have not made it to adulthood.  I could have grown up with every opportunity and been exceedingly wealthy but had expectations I could never meet.  I believe that most people are good.  I’m not sure what happens that creates disgruntlement or unhappiness and unrest.  I’m not sure what causes someone to become evil along the way either, but these things happen, too.  Life happens and it’s not always kind.  We need kindness in our world.  We need consideration and love.

51790-define-who-we-are-quotes

There are nations that hate and promote hatred of races and religions.  Such intolerance when we have all come so far.  I won’t get on my soap box.  There are enough people who do that.  It just makes me sad that our nation, which was once so great, seems to be disintegrating.  I will promote love.  I will continue to nurture.  I will continue to do my best for all of mankind.  I am only one, but on the other hand, I am one.

2 thoughts on “Who Are We Really?

Leave a Reply

