The Journey of a Little Squirrel

Good morning and what a day. The weather is fine and so is my spirit as I begin another day in the journey of my life. I actually slept last night. All night! This never seems to happen much these days so when it does, it’s a gift. Well, I certainly see it as such. Insomnia is such a pain. It renders one fairly useless or at least you feel that way the following day.

Our little friend, Dexter the squirrel, is doing very well. We wanted to release him back into the wild this week but now we are second guessing ourselves. I wish so much that we had the answer we need, but that one only God knows. Will he make it in the wild? Out biggest concern is simply that he is fearless. He shows no fear of other animals that would be his natural predators. He really is no problem. He loves to run around and climb on us and my bed. Its a jungle gym for him. My hand is his wrestling pal. He’s very gentle when we play and he does somersaults over my hand as I try to tickle his belly. I wish I knew the answer. I wish i knew about releasing him at this point. He is a sweetie. A love I never thought possible.

We have rehabbed rabbits many times and had no problems releasing them. Squirrels are so different. They take much more time and energy to raise. This makes it harder to let go for sure, but if I thought he would be okay, he would be released today. Physically, he’s ready but could benefit from more calcium supplements still after his near death diagnosis of MBD.  Oh what to do. I know people have had pet squirrels before, but that was never our intention.  Time will tell, I suppose. I have him sitting on my shoulder after he finished playing and eating his breakfast as I write this.  Dexter is a happy, fairly healthy squirrel now.  I just would never forgive myself if we released him and he was eaten by another animal because he trusted it to be his friend.

Leave a Reply

