Just Considering Today

Today is the first day of the rest of your life. How many times have we heard this and yet we still dwell on the past and think about the far off future. Well, today, I’m thankful just for today. 

image

I sit here and realize that No matter what happens tomorrow, and there will be many things to worry about, today I have all that I need and more. One can only handle so much and if we are given to worry, as I inevitably am, then thinking about the good old positive things really puts things in our lives into proper perspective. Granted, again I’m attempting I’m attempting to write with my squirrel friend crawling on my shoulders and head. No that doesn’t make me a freak. Really. He even tried to groom me. Yes, seriously.

I’m faced with many trials and tribulations in my life as of late, and yet I’ve learned that all things come to pass. We sometimes don’t have control over all the things we would wish to control. It’s really okay. I promise. Stop worrying about everything you can’t control. Whether you worry about whether someone cares about you or if it’s your health. You have to realize that some things simply aren’t up to you.

image

Be yourself. If people like you, wonderful. If they don’t, then realize that’s their problem. You probably wouldn’t really enjoy their company either of you really knew them. As for your health, well, do your best to stay healthy but realize that things happen that are out of your control. If, for instance, you have a bad gallbladder or you have to have your spleen removed, you’re going to make it through. It could be more serious. If it is more serious, try to stay positive. Keep things in perspective. Trust me, it helps.

I’ve learned after years of worrying. Life is far too short. Now, I’m not saying go get yourself a squirrel to help keep things in perspective. In fact, I wouldn’t recommend that at all. Dexter the squirrel is my little mascot but he’s a handful.  Well, more than a handful these days! What I am saying is look at the bright side and look at the life you have today. Don’t dwell on the yesterdays or the worries of tomorrow. They will be there and so will Dexter and I.

image

Leave a Reply

