Being Kind to Myself

Sometimes we have to sit back and learn to be kinder to ourselves. In my case that means telling myself that I’m worth the work. I’m worth the frustrations. I’m lovable and I can be a joy to be around. That is something I struggle with often. This week I’ve really worked hard on myself from the inside and let me tell you, it feels good!

image

How many times have you told yourself that you just aren’t enough? Not even that you’re not good enough but simply not enough? I have so often thought this. I could write volumes just in this topic, but this week, not once did I let myself have the permission to think that way. You know something? I feel better. What power we have over our own minds!

I may be a great many things, but I know I am more than enough. Anyone who doesn’t see my “enoughness” is less that entitled to have my time. Okay, that sounds really harsh, but really, think about how many times you’ve put yourself in positions to do things for others and they don’t give two hoots! They just wanted someone to do the work so they didn’t have to do it. You were just enough to fill a position but that was your total worth to that person. Well, boys and girls, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! Don’t sell yourself short! You’re more than enough. (Get it yet?) if these negative people were a little kinder to themselves, perhaps they would learn to be kinder to those around them. Perhaps they would feel like they are more than enough. Usually, it’s the people who are negative that need kindness in their life most, both self kindness and kindness from others.

image

I’m worth more and so are you. Treating yourself with kindness is the first step to being a kinder person. You don’t have to put up with all the negativity out there. Neither do I. What I’ve found is inner peace because I’ve been kinder to myself. Yes, I sound like a hippie flower child of the 60’s. That’s just fine by me. If I’m happier within myself, the people around me will be happier to. So, what have you done this week to be kinder to yourself?

http://therichnessofasimplelife.wordpress.com  Following her lead, I have joined the kindness challenge which inspired this post.  Please join in the kindness challenge!  It’s wonderful to start your day being kinder to yourself.  I started each day last week telling myself how I am more than good enough and that I am special.  If you follow the link above, you will find out more about this amazing challenge and join the others doing the same.  Let’s make this a kindness revolution.  We can change the world, one kind step at a time!

kindnesschallenge.jpg

2 thoughts on “Being Kind to Myself

  1. This is so true, and it is such an important thing to keep in mind. I especially like how you talked about how enough is enough and how we are more than enough. For me, this was a really eye-opening statement, especially since it is sometimes difficult to see ourselves for who we are (instead of seeing ourselves for who others see us as).
    Great post!
    Wishing you the best,
    MimiTa

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

