Revolution of Kindness – My Week 2

Image result for kindness

My week this week seemed both long and short, all at the same time.  It was long due to not feeling well, thanks to Mr. Pancreatic Cyst which will soon be a thing of my past, as well as computer training class for work.   I love messing around with technology for the most part.  Okay, the fact of the matter is really that I used to love computers and all things technology, but that was a time when I had more patience than I seem to have these days.  It’s not that I didn’t enjoy my computer class, I enjoyed the people in my computer class and the trainers very much.  They made it bearable.  My problem was simply that I am no longer as quick at learning new things.  I used to pick up technology so quickly.  Now, trying to just get my eyes to re-accommodate from the computer screen in front of me to the one projected at the front of class is tough.

Lucky for me, the trainers were there to help every step of the way.  Each time I said, “where is that?” or “I can’t see how you got there”, there was a trainer by my side.  I even told the one trainer, Kim, that she should simply pull up a chair because I was going to need a lot of her expertise and she looked uncomfortable squatting down next to me.  What kindness she showed, and all the trainers, for that matter.  Their kindness to help those of us, me in particular, to “get it” with the 2 computer systems we use on a daily basis.  I could spend some time just getting tutored I think!  I’m a special kind of student these days!

Showing kindness is something we don’t always see.  When looking for kindness, I also saw unkindness, but tried to sort of unsee it.  One place I saw kindness was in my daughter this week.  I have seen this before in my kids but I have to point this out because it happened this particular week.  My second daughter, Bear, the one who graduated high school today, was very kind to me and to our family this week by doing that which she loves to do already.  She cooked dinner for us a few times which was, as usual, delicious.  As a surprise, one night, she also made us brownies.  She has always been thoughtful.  Last Sunday, she had a baking day so she could bake some goodies for her teachers.  She made mention that she is, by nature, a caregiver.  She is absolutely that, a nurturer. She gave me unbidden hugs, just because.  She made this a much better week.

Now we begin week three. We are asked to begin another journey in our Kindness Revolution.  Check out what’s happening on Niki’s awesome blog!  https://therichnessofasimplelife.wordpress.com/2016/05/23/kindness-challenge-week-3-kind-energy/.  It’s truly a wonderful journey for me so far.  This week is going to be very challenging.  I can be very kind, but also very selfish.  I can be loud and sometimes, I don’t see things as I should.  I’m human.  I will always be human, but I am trying so hard to be a better human.  Come join us in our Revolution of Kindness.  It’s truly inspiring!

revofkindness.jpg

4 thoughts on “Revolution of Kindness – My Week 2

  1. I’m so glad that you experienced so much kindness! It’s true, you will still see the unkind things, I think the trick is to not focus on them and let that be the takeaway point of the day. What a special treat to have your daughter make dinner! That’s awesome 🙂 So glad to have you participate!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

