End of the Road

images (59)

My St. Louis Blues lost their battle tonight for the Stanley Cup.  They were so close.  If you’ve visited before, you know I’m a die-hard fan.  I love my Blues.  I’m saddened by the way they played the last two games, but on this occasion, I will say San Jose just played harder.  San Jose was hungrier to become the Western Conference Champs and into the Stanley Cup Finals.

My friend, T and I always watch the games together.  Tonight, we just both had the feeling that it might end in the favor of the San Jose Sharks and unfortunately, our gut feeling was correct.  You see, I always go with my gut instincts about things. It is rarely wrong.

As we sat watching this game, as so many others, T made the same comment as she has on other occasions during this series.  Our Blues were playing the Sharks game instead of the other way around.  We really didn’t score many goals this last series at all.  Vladimir Tarasenko, one of the best goal scorers in the league, had not made a goal going into this game and this was the 6th game.  That, in and of itself, is unusual.  Our players, usually dictate the pace of the game and you can tell early on what kind of game it will be, but these last few games, well, let’s just say it’s been rough.

The players lacked energy from a viewers standpoint.  It seemed that the Sharks dictated not only the pace but the majority of puck possession as well.  Brian Elliott started out in goal again tonight which I thought would possibly bring some energy back after missing last game, but after the score was 2-0 and the Blues were looking lethargic on the ice, I thought for sure they would switch goaltenders and put Jake Allen in.  Perhaps if they had, the outcome would have been different, perhaps not.  One will never know.

In the 3rd period, the Blues were down 3-0.  Yes, my soul was singing laments of sheer sadness.  Finally, my Blues showed some signs of life.  They somehow scored 2 goals in the last 8 minutes but it was too late.  The Sharks had already scored another goal and late in the 3rd, when the score was 4-2 with 2 minutes left, they scored again making the final score 5-2.

I will not forget this season for a long time.  I am proud of my Blues.  They did so well and came so far.  They are such a bunch of great men.  Special shout out to Robbie Fabbri, the young 20 year old who made his mark in the NHL in his rookie year.  He will be around for a long time to come and hopefully he’ll stay with our team.  I love my Blues.  I love St. Louis.

Now, it’s on to baseball and tennis!  French Open is on.  I better start watching.  And how about the recent horse racing events?  No triple crown this year.  Can’t wait though until next hockey season.  At least I can still watch my son play this summer. The problem is, he’s only 9.  It’s a far cry from the NHL, but it’ll have to do.  I can dream of hockey sticks, ice and pucks though.  Nothing will keep me from that.

Leave a Reply

