Revolution of Kindness Week #3

What a week to be kind.  It sure came in handy.  I have to still remind myself that life is so much better when I’m kinder, softer and more gentle with my words and actions, but overall, it’s getting easier.  I am so grateful for joining this action to kindness and I truly believe that it is helping me in so many ways.  Not only do I see a change in the way I am, but I notice all the little things around me.  I notice the kind gestures, the kind words.

At work, I will see some grumpiness, but I remember that kindness is often the best way to turn it around.  I have yet to be grumpy in my new job.  I really enjoy what I’m doing.  I enjoy the people that I’m working with.  I actually did see a situation where someone was so upset by a sporting event that his whole attitude was that of grumble, grumble in the morning.  We were chatting about the game that occurred the night before.  I was upset by it too, and for the same reason, the outcome.  It ended our season.  The beauty of the situation was in our conversation.  As we were talking about it, I infused kind words for both teams.  I spoke kindly and didn’t enter into the “talking smack” about the other team because what good would it do?  It changes nothing.  Our jobs aren’t in any way affected by the outcome of the game.  Our relationships are intact with those we love.  The game is just that, a game.  This is not my usual reaction on such a big game, but this time, thanks to the gift of kindness, it turned his attitude around and it helped me too.

At home, the gift of kindness has been helping exponentially.  I can’t say I always do the best at speaking softly and being kind, but then again, I have teenagers.  Let’s get real.  Sometimes soft and gentle doesn’t get them moving.  Sometimes, nothing will move them, except perhaps fire under their backsides! Even then, I feel the reaction may be a bit slow.  Overall however, I would say that the kindness revolution is going great.  I see how my marriage and my relationship with my kids is much improving.  I have a long way to go, but I will get there in time.

I can’t wait for the next challenge.  I keep adding the challenges as they come and work at them each day.  Although some days are more successful than others, I’m getting there.  As I always say, I’m not perfect by any stretch of the imagination.  I am a work in progress.  I encourage you all to join us in this Kindness Revolution and change your lrevofkindness.jpg

Kindness link to join the Revolution:  https://therichnessofasimplelife.wordpress.com/kindness-challenge/2016-weekly-links/

3 thoughts on “Revolution of Kindness Week #3

  1. I love how this can be applied to any situation! What a great example of reacting out of kindness! I’m so glad that it’s getting easier with practice. Good for you to have the exercises of the week roll on and continue to practice them 🙂 Thanks for sharing Deirdre 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

