A Kinder Sort of World

th.jpgAt work today, I was met first with a challenge.  I went to the department I was to be in for the day.  No problem there.  I was met by 2 of the department’s nurses, neither of whom was the one which I was scheduled to train with, but both were willing to help me.  What a great feeling, a feeling of being wanted.  I was delighted to be welcomed with such warmth by these two nurses and this didn’t stop there.

I went to lunch on my own.  I like to do this most days because I like to blog or read some of your great posts, but today, I had to charge my rapidly dying phone.  For some reason, my phone was losing it’s charge at an exponential rate of maybe, say, light speed.  I have no idea why this was happening, but it was.  I was waiting for one particular phone call and as my phone was already down to 23% when I left for lunch, I thought giving it my lunch hour just might help.  It did, a little bit.  So much for reading and blogging though.

When I got back from lunch, however, I got to meet the person I planned on meeting initially, this morning.  We shall call her Tessa.  She reminds me of a Tessa.  She is absolutely one of the most helpful human beings I have ever met.  At first, I observed her, like I always begin my training, but then, I asked if I could try something to be helpful.  She let me!  She actually let me work on some of the tasks and the morning nurse let me room patients all by my little lonesome.  I’m on cloud nine right now.  I actually feel less like a complete and utter burden and more like a slightly mostly insignificantly helpful human!  Yes, I did stuff, people!  Me, I did stuff, today!  I wasn’t completely worthless at work!

Even the physicians are awesome in this group.  They are kind and patient.  I apologized immediately for anything that I may get wrong today or in the future as well as for asking a billion questions, but I’m a float nurse.  I have to know how everyone works.  That’s the beauty of what I do.  I am a nomad in the clinic setting.  I take my bag of important information that I acquire with me from day to day, office to office.  I carry it everywhere.  I’m portable and so are my skills.

I will get this job to work well for me, just as I will find my niche in working this job.  So far, I absolutely love it.  I haven’t been this happy in a job for a very long time.  I still can’t believe that it took me so long to make this decision to move here from home health, but I thank God daily for leading me on this new journey.  With such kind people surrounding me, my world is a kinder sort of place.

4 thoughts on “A Kinder Sort of World

Leave a Reply

