T Minus 2 days

image

And thus we find ourselves here. The hospital called twice, once to pre-register and once to go over allergies and medications. That is fine with me, however, I know I’ll have to go over it all again on Friday morning. Yippee! Oh what fun!

I am no stranger to surgeries, especially abdominal surgeries. This time is different though. This time is a really big surgery. I admit I’m scared, but I just want it to be over. I was struck by something during the pre-registration call this morning. They asked me to pay my $350 co-pay today. Since when did this start occurring? Isn’t it bad enough that I have a family to support and I’ll have no income to support them with? Now the hospital, which used to take payments, wants that much up front? Seriously? I’m struggling here to understand the efficacy of all this. What happens to those who don’t have it? My cyst is pre-cancerous. This is necessary. I need to get this out of my body. Is this what health care has come to?

I struggle to understand how hospitals expect me to rate them highly when they want my copay right now. Isn’t this supposed to be about patient care? How did this happen? I’ll tell you how. It happened when the government decided to get involved. I’ve been a registered nurse for 20 years and it’s a recent occurrence that hospitals have been run so far into the red that they have to make things this tough for patients. What if I tell them I won’t be able to pay my other bills if I pay them for a surgery I need? Do you think they really give a hoot? The answer is a resounding no. Hospitals, like every other business, have been forced to think about the almighty bottom line more and more and less about the happiness of their patients.

You will get loads of surveys in the mail after doctor’s visits and hospital stays. That’s administration for you. They go by numbers. How did our employees do on the surveys? And that’s all we employees are, a number. Luckily, for those we work with, we are much more than that number. We are human. We matter more than that number, but to those above us all, just a number on a survey.

The same is true all over healthcare which is changing the way healthcare is delivered. Its everywhere, not just in the hospital I’ll be at for my surgery. Everywhere. Too bad the people taking care of you and me aren’t allowed just to do a great job, that which they were called to do, without having government and administration breathing out orders as to how we do what we do. It even includes how long doctors are supposed to take for patients. Yep, you read that correctly. Don’t you like having a time restraint on how important you are! And now, we have to pay for our stay like a damn hotel stay! I guarantee, it’s no Ritz Carlton for my stay! Why should I have to pay first?

Thoughtfully perturbed in Illinois!

2 thoughts on “T Minus 2 days

  1. Bless your heart, my friend….I am sorry to know that you’ve had this extra layer on top of what you are going through…I am saying a prayer for you…thank you for sharing…I’m sure it it of benefit to others…including me…it reminds me to count my blessings. You are a light in this world 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

