The Interview

wp-1464846922347.jpgThe coffee was brewing as she cooked her scrambled eggs with great purpose.  She was going to get this interview right this morning.  She would nail it.  She shooed Penelope off the table as the feline neared the house plant.  Dani knew that poinsettias were a danger if eaten by cats and if anything happened to Penelope, well, she would be devastated.

Dani dressed in her new blue blouse and navy flared skirt, but she would skip the big belt today, as they might find that a bit overkill for an interview. She had to turn it down just a little bit. she thought. She straightened her curly hair and added mascara and liner to her eyes with just the right pop of pink lipstick and her makeup was done. Professional but not frumpy! Excellent!

All set and evidently ready to knock them dead!  Well, figuratively speaking, of course.  Dani felt like she was on top of the world as she grabbed the keys to the old Jetta and locked the door behind her.  This was the first day of the rest of her life, and she was ready for it!


This is part of The Blog Propellant’s prompt , Words, Words, Words in which we are given a list of words and bidden to use them in a story of 150-200 words.  Today’s words are: Scrambled eggs, purpose, house plant, danger, skip, evidently.  This is such a blast.  I love being given prompts and then writing a quick short story.  Fiction is such a blast to write.  Hope you enjoyed it.

9 thoughts on “The Interview

      1. I’ve missed you as well, my friend…but, haven’t missed me…been quite in my head with all kinds of businesses and it was getting me down…but, I know that when that happens, I find a way to the light and I am better for it….just felt dragged down and overwhelmed….I’m sure I’m on the upswing, now….thanks for brightening my day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you so very much for brightening mine! You popped by just at the right time! I was really down today about the upcoming surgery. Its huge and scary, but you lightened my mind so much!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

