Blessings of Purpose

I wish I could tell you I was in a great place right now.  I wish I could say that I was in my usual happy place, but I just really can’t get there tonight.  I’m preparing for my surgery tomorrow morning.  Tomorrow is the day I will have part of my pancreas and all of my spleen removed thanks to my nemesis, the pancreatic cyst with atypical cells.  Bloody stupid cyst.

My husband, being the fabulous man that he is, is trying his best to put the smile back on my face.  He’s doing a good job, but in the back of my mind, I am anticipating the surgery.  How do you really get something that big out of your head? Well, the answer is, you don’t.

My husband’s purpose tonight and always, seems to be to take my mind off something or another.  Tonight, however, it is all about the surgery.  What is he doing? He and I are watching and listening to stand up comics.  The good ones!  You know the ones that actually can tell a joke without the use of foul language and crassness? Right now, it’s Ellen DeGeneres.  I adore Ellen.  She is so awesome.  Her topic for this one is procrastination.  Hilarious and not one bit of foul language.  My 9 year old could watch it.

What is the purpose of all this?  Don’t we ask ourselves that one all the time!  For me, my purpose is to keep calm and to get ready.  For Hubs, it’s to keep me calm and happy while helping me get everything ready.  For the kids?  Well, their purpose is to stay happy and carry on.   We all have a purpose in this world.  Right now, this is my purpose and my family’s purpose.

 

3 thoughts on “Blessings of Purpose

Leave a Reply

