I Have a Great Profession

As sick as I am in this hospital bed, I know I am annoying to cope with.  I hate using my call light.  I try to do things on my own.  I just do.  I am this way because I’m a nurse.  I know what it feels like to be torn in several directions at the same time and not know what way to turn.  I remember those days well although it’s been years.

Tonight, I am just so proud of being a part of such a wonderful profession.  I have been cared for so well so far on this hospital trip.  I am not my normal lucid self most of the time.  Right now, I’m having a rare lucid moment and I’m snatching it up to share it with you. It’s very difficult to type with tubes and wires attached everywhere, but they are necessary.  I will soon be given my pain medicine again and no longer be lucid.

My dear ones, just hug all the nurses that are in your lives.  They really do go through so much at work and deserve your undying love at home.  I don’t say this for myself, but for all the nurses still working in the hospital.  Being a patient brings to mind countless memories of the good, the bad and the downright ugly.  Nursing isn’t a job, it’s a calling!

7 thoughts on “I Have a Great Profession

Leave a Reply

