Tales Post-Op: Home at Last

I can’t tell you how glad I am to be home.  I did absolutely enjoy being pampered by the extraordinarily kind nurses at the hospital for 5 days, but there really is no place like home.  I love my soft, clean, fresh sheets.  I do, however, miss the bed that raises up and down.  The pain caused from that movement can be described as less than favorable at the moment.  If you don’t know, I had a large abdominal surgery last Friday so my tummy muscles are crying right now with activities I normally do without blinking. In this edition of Deirdre’s Daily Dose, I hope to amuse you with some antics of the “far away, far out” me induced by pain medication and other journeys over the last 5 days.  I wish it won’t bother you in any way, and that you can follow it, because, well, I’m stoned on Norco and tramadol at the moment and keeping my eyes open is hard enough!
image

First of all, everything takes 1o times longer to accomplish thanks to my pain medication. For instance, just this minute, I started typing, zoned out, I think I may have even fallen asleep, and all I keep hearing in my head is an earlier conversation about naming a future dog Edgar.  So, in that “away” time from blogging, my finger fit the “d” and stayed there for many rows of, yes, you guessed it, “d’s”.  Grrrrr! I had to erase all of them.  What a pain! I keep falling asleep during this paragraph and dreaming.  Just little short dreams about the strangest things.  If I could just stay awake to write.  This would be such a funny post, I tell myself.

In regards to sleeping and the medications, let me tell you a couple of things.  First, the dreams are so weird.  Very colorful, but I always dream in color, these dreams are in strange, off the wall colors most of the time.  I can fall asleep in seconds and often do.  So, I may be talking to you, then the eyes close, I’ll still be talking to you but the dreaming starts while I’m talking to you.  I’m in two different places at the same time.  How bizarre!  My eyes are so happy when they are closed right now.  I know my body has lots of healing to do, but I simply can’t keep my eyes open for very long.  It’s not even that I’m not interested in what you’re saying.  I’m very interested, but my eyes and my body are so tired. And reading, well just forget it.  If it’s very short, I may get through it.  I may have to have someone read to me. What normally would take me a few minutes could literally take me all day.  Writing this is taking far more time than it ever would if I weren’t under the influence of medications.  And, this is what I love more than anything else.  Sharing my time with you.  Sharing my thoughts with you.

I do look and feel like a pin cushion presently.  I have gone through my surgery which was done laprascopically. Because of this, I don’t have one giant incision.  I am fortunate to have 2 poke holes, one small incision and a larger incision which is still relatively small.  but still, I’m marked for life, again.  Dad said, regarding my abdominal surgeries that I should have a zipper placed in my abdomen.  I teased him and said, “well I have one already.  Haven’t you seen it?  It’s all the rage in the frequently operated abdomens this summer?” This was my eighth abdominal surgery in the last 20 years.  Man, I’m one tough nut to crack.  Soon, they will run out of things to take out.  I’m like the patient in the game “Operation”.

As far as my IV’s and needle pokes, well, my veins have decided that they’d like a rest.  I was stabbed 12 times in 5 days for my IV’s thanks to my veins deciding to be sissies.  They just didn’t want to play nice with the needles. You see, as a nurse, I know how long the IV’s should last, and mine usually only last 24 hours.  I did have the last one for 48 hours before it infiltrated, but there were a few days I needed 2 IV’s as well.  That was not fun.  They should last 72 hours.  Next time, I’m suggesting a central line.  That’s it.  My arms are various shades of black, blue, purple, yellow and green from the various bruising.  Fun times.  Oh Yeah!

Now, let us talk about fluid.  surgeons love to make sure you are overfilled with fluids.  I am no exception.  That wasn’t a problem with a catheter to take care of the urine I was producing, but Day 2, my friend, the cath, went bye bye. Up and down, up and down. Painfully I made that trek while the fluids ran in liter after liter through my veins.  I even started getting puffy little feet and hands.  I was looking like a puffy little marshmallow with those excessive fluids.  Love me them lactacted ringers! Eventually, they were turned off and my puffiness started to decline and is still declining.  I still weigh more than I did entering into my surgery though.  That I’m not a big fan of, but it will go.  Eventually.

I’m now up and about more that I was, when I’m not falling asleep at a moment’s notice. I’m starting to feel better, but I’m reminded with pain when it’s time to take my little friends, tramadol and norco.  I’ve got a regiment going on and hope it will be just a short term one.  I hate the feeling of loopiness in my brain.  My kids laugh at the way I speak after the norco.  I just want to sleep  Ah, there’s the twinge again.  Time for my date with T and N.  I’ll be off for now.  Wouldn’t want to fall asleep on you again and have another odd dream to attempt to tell you about!

Ta-Ta for now!

Deleriously Dreaming Deirdre! xo

8 thoughts on “Tales Post-Op: Home at Last

  1. Aren’t drugs great! I recently had both my knees replaced (different times last year), and last week had double cataract removal eye surgery (woo hoo)! Especially with my knees, I know exactly what you mean about every tiny movement being painful. Not now, but when I was healing – ouchie munga! I hope you are healing quickly and up and around soon. I hope you won’t have to have any more abdominal surgeries. I agree with you – there are only so many things they can take out of you (or, in my case, replace). Take care and know that my prayers are with you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

