I’m Just Tired

image

Having been under the weather since March has given me a whole new sense of what it feels like for those who suffer from lifelong daily pain. After just 3 months of this and I am just so tired of it. I just want to throw in the towel sometimes. Other times I’m okay. Tonight, I’m simply done. I want my life back. I’m just so tired of it all.

I know, for me, there is an end in sight. I know my pain will end. It can’t come soon enough and yet there are times, like tonight, when I just don’t feel any better. I just don’t want to have to take another damn pill. I hate how they make me feel. I hate what they do to my dreams. I want to sleep longer than a few hours and wake refreshed and pain free. What a great feeling that will be. It’s coming. I know it is, but tonight I keep wondering if it will ever get here.

I can’t imagine going through all of this without my loving husband by my side. He asks why I’m crying and just holds me. I cry because I hurt. I cry because I feel like I can’t go on hurting. He makes this better and easier to deal with. For those people that have no one and have to go through chronic pain alone? I pray for someone to be there for them.

Pain is the most subjective thing we own. No one can truly measure pain on another person. It is what we say it is. I know I can handle a great deal of pain, or so people tell me, and continue to do so even though it is lessened every day. It isn’t fair to judge another’s pain either. People do it often though. I can only say that my appreciation for and sympathy for those whose pain is chronic in nature has grown exponentially over these last 3 months.

With this, I ask that if you know someone with chronic pain, hug them for a long time and tell them how much you love them. You would be amazed at how much the power of love can help pain. The power of touch is truly one of the strongest pain suppressants for me. A hug can raise the levels of serotonin in your brain and help you feel so much better, so go hug someone today. Be the pain reliever and antidepressant all rolled into one. That’s what healing touch does. That’s what a hug is.

Just writing this and sharing with you the struggles of pain and what you can do to help, has helped raise my spirits. I will be fine. I know this takes time and I’m on the upswing of this illness. Next month it should be all back to my normal life, whatever that is! Now, go hug people! Everyone, including you, will feel better!

10 thoughts on “I’m Just Tired

  1. Bless your heart…what an amazing soul you are….you inspire me, always…and, I never tire of your beautiful writing. By the way, I haven’t forgotten the 3 quotes in 3 days challenge…I mean to start after work (well, I meant to start a couple days ago), but I have my first quote and look forward to the opportunity. “See you” soon…I will read and comment on your other posts after work, today). I am sending you a hug, my friend…take care šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Bless, you it is such early days after your surgery. I had half my pancreas and my spleen removed in March 2015, and was told it would take 6 month before I got my energy back, and it did. It took me about a month before I was off pain relief, it is a slow process so take care of yourself and ask for lots of hugs – they are so important. You will get better, it just takes time. Hugs Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

