Gratefulness for Fathers

I sometimes think what my life would have been like if I had not been adopted.  What would life been like for me if I had remained with my birth mother instead of been adopted by two of the most loving, hardworking parents I have ever known.  Would she have been a single mom raising me without a father in the picture? It could have been that way, but she wasn’t thinking of herself when she signed those papers.  She was only thinking about how much she loved me and couldn’t give me the things she wanted me to have in this life.  One of those things, may have been, a dad.

My dad is a gentle, quiet soul.  He is an Irishman from the old country.  As he ages, he becomes more like my grandfather in many ways.  I was blessed to have my grandparents in my life while they were here.  My grandfather W, died at the tender age of 91 in 1981.  I remember this because I was in 6th grade and I must have had an unusual pained expression on my face instead of my normal smile.  I loved my grandpa and have great memories of him.  He was a peaceful man, like my dad.  Just don’t get them upset.

My dad is very peaceful as well.  He is slow to speak about much of anything, but his mind is always at work.  His hands are always busy and and his heart is always full.  He is one to says very little, but when you get him going, watch out! He can amuse you with many stories and anecdotes from times gone by. I could sit and listen to his stories for hours, even days, if that ever happened!

My father is the most generous man I’ve ever known.  He helps out everyone in need.  If a family member needs something and he can help, he does.  He’s always there to offer advice, but will never give it unsolicited.  If he judges you, he will only tell you if he thinks if will help you.  He and my mom had such a perfect love story.  Some of you have read about their love before.  It was a love that transcended time.  It was a love that began many years ago and drew through 55 years of wedded bliss.   Now, dad is stuck with just us crazy kids, but he’s still the happy person he’s always been.  He always has been able to maintain his composure.  But that’s just my daddy.  I love you to the moon and back daddy.  I just wish I could show you more or tell you more often just how much I appreciate you.

The other most important dad in my life is my Hubs, of course.  He took on this job when I was a single mom with 3 young girls.  Not only that, but although my girls known him for their whole lives, they were a little leery having someone take over their dad’s job.  In time, they grew to love him very much and we have all grown to rely on him in our lives.  When we were young, I used to write in my diary that I would marry him.  I was 12 at the time.  I had the only diary I ever had.  I still have that diary.  I never dreamed that it would take us so long to get married, but I thank God every day that we found each other again.

When I asked this man to just date me, he knew I had baggage.  He knew I was just divorced and that he and I would have to get to really know each other again.  Yes, we had remained friends for 15 years, but it was a very simple, carefree and innocent friendship.  In fact, I was trying to help him date other girls during that time and trying to give him hints and courage to ask them out.  I’ve never been so happy that he didn’t bother, or that they said no.

When he entered our home and my life through marriage, he ultimately changed my world.  There have been times I was not as grateful as I should have been, but those days, luckily, are long gone.  Over the years, he has grown into a man who serves God and his family.  He has stayed up with the kids until way past the bewitching hour to work on projects, he has gone out at strange hours of the night to get some ice cream, chocolate, sanitary pads, school supplies, etc, for all of us.  He is, in one word, amazing.

I couldn’t go through my life without my husband by my side.  My children with grow and start their own lives.  That is what I want for them.  I just need my husband by my side.  He is my everything.  He is the love of my life.

I am so grateful for these two men.  I am filled with thoughts of love when I think of how they have made my life better.  They have shaped my life and given me so much to be grateful for.  They have impacted my children’s lives and made them better people too, even though they may not realize it just yet.  I am truly blessed to have them in my life.

Leave a Reply

