I Wish the World Knew Patience

It’s the middle of the night.  I should be asleep, but alas, I’m in my peaceful time.  It’s my time of night when the house is asleep, but here I am, awake and full of “thinks”.

I’ve been thinking about what this world needs and what I would teach the world if given the opportunity.  I’ve thought about it for so long, I should have posted this several hours ago, but, I didn’t yet have the words.

Remember the old Coke commercial?   I’d like to give the world a Coke? Well, I’d like to give the world patience.  I’ve had that old commercial running on a loop in my head since I decided that patience is what I’d give to the world.  It’s a good thing I always liked that song.  Regardless, patience is something this world needs.  It’s something we could all use more of.

I have great patience when it comes to some things, but not when it comes to myself.  I’ve never been as ill as I have this last month.  Going into my surgery, I thought, or rather, I presumed, everything would go according to plan because it always had.  I’m young enough, okay, I’m in my mid-forties, I’m healthy, or I was leading up to the surgery.  Nothing would go wrong.  How wrong I was.  Everything but the initial surgery went wrong.  I have had to learn patience from a new perspective.  I still await being myself.  It will be here, eventually.

As things are, I’m stuck at home most of the time.  I have such a renewed sense of freedom and exhilaration when I leave my house and go to an appointment, or a drive in the car.  It takes so little now to make me happy.

Why have we all forgotten how to be patient?  I look at my family.  None of them are patient.  They have lived in this world that wants and expects everything now.  The current generation really want instant gratification.  They never seemed to have any patience to begin with.  Even playing games, they want success now.

I have always been somewhat patient with people, but I have had learn extreme patience with myself.  It hasn’t been easy to do.  In my current state, I am exhausted, have pain and a drain stuck in my abdomen.  It’s only a temporary state.  I know that, yet it often feels like forever.

I miss my mom.  It’s been 7 long months and yet it seems like yesterday.  I just want to pick up the phone and call her, but I can’t.  Again, I have to be patient with myself.  I have cried realizing that mom can’t help me through this from the physical aspect of things.  I know she is in heaven and that she’s watching out for me.

My family has to be patient with me as I heal.  I have to be patient with myself, too.   Another week will go by.  I will get through it.  If’s a better place than where I was one week ago.  If only the world could see and learn patience.

Imagine what would happen to this world if the governments were patient and would actually think before acting like they do.  Imagine a more thoughtful, peaceful world.  If you can, just for a moment.   I can. Can you?


This has been a Finish the Sentence Friday Post.  Our host this week, the ever lovely, Kristi from www.findingninee.com

simple ftsf

13 thoughts on “I Wish the World Knew Patience

  1. I definitely can imagine a more thoughtful, peaceful world. It would be amazing if governments (and everybody) acted with more patience and grace. I’m so sorry about all of your health problems and being stuck at home. I hope that you feel better quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You have this gift for unfailing surprising me with the beauty of your heart and the wisdom of your soul….I should be used to it by now, but you never cease to amaze….which makes you so inspiring…so appreciated…and so adored. You are awesome, my friend…thanks for sharing…always sharing… 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Deirdre I am SO impressed that you’re going through the healing process post-surgery (post COMPLICATED surgery, by the sounds of things) and you have such a good attitude. I know you’ve said that you struggle sometimes but honestly, your attitude and determination to be patient is amazing. I had surgery a while back and I was totally THEE very most not-patient person of all.

    YES to all people recognising the lesson and value in patience.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hang in there! It’s not easy to be patient. We want to get through tough situations, etc. Just keep on going, you will come out the other side even stronger and more patient!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Coke song runs ‘ round my head too! Wouldn’t it be nice!!

    I enjoyed your thought provoking post.
    I’ m sorry about your mom. It’s going on 5 years plus the ones she has alzheimers. Feel good that you have special memories and remember how wonderful it was to have had her as a part of your life. Sadly, some people don’t get that experience.

    Looking forward to reading more.

    Kind regards and hugs – K

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a lovely thought: patience. It sounds like you have such a good relationship with patience. I am impatient. Always. I too think my thinks at night–I’m impatient for morning. Impatient for sleep. Impatient for the thinks to become dos. When my daughter was sickest we couldn’t leave the house. I would pace. Eat candies. Anything to keep some motion. Thank you for the reminder to slow it down. To sit in the patience.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment