When Words Get in the Way

I am such an emotional person. I’ve wished a thousand times to be the cool, emotionless woman who keeps it all together and never cries. It would certainly help when in an emotional crisis and trying to get the right words to come out of my mouth. You know that feeling. That one when you know what you want to say but your emotions get the best of you and the words come out jumbled at best. What you wanted to say and what comes out are completely unrelated to each other.

Have yoenu ever known precisely what you were going to say because you had practiced the exchange in your head? But no matter how many times you practice, how many scenarios you think of, being in the moment is so utterly different.

I become a flustered mess whose emotions get the best of me every time. I either ending in tears of anger or sadness or frustration. Regardless, I’m the emotional mess who had great points 5 minutes earlier but now can’t speak because I’m so ridiculously emotional. 

It isn’t fair because no one takes me seriously either. Who would take a blubbering fool seriously? Would you, in all honesty? Probably not unless they were injured seriously. We aren’t crazy. We are passionate. We deserve to be heard and heeded. Our minds are full of compassion. This is why we feel so passionately about certan things. Enough to fight them! 

    We are honorable. If we say we will do something, it will be done. If I love something or someone enough to fight for them, I will fight till my last breath. The words get in the way, but I will always keep trying to use them!

    6 thoughts on “When Words Get in the Way

    1. I completely understand how you feel. This is exactly what I become when a topic makes me emotional–I lose all rationality and become a blubbering mess. It’s even worse when something ticks me off because I become a blubbering, sobbing mess. I can still vividly remember a debate I had with someone about organ trafficking or something like that. Anyways, that person said something about how costs or something like that was more important like human life in our debate, and right after that I could feel a dam of tears ready to gush out of my eyes. I barely managed to finish saying my speech without breaking down, and as I talked I was trembling. After the debate, I ended up sobbing at a trash can. I don’t even know if my speech made sense, but anyways, even as I’m typing this and remembering my experience, I’m starting the quivering and all haha
      It’s difficult though, especially because I heard that guys in general become blubbering fools when they don’t know what they’re talking about; whereas, women (in general) become blubbering fools when it comes to conveying a point that they’re passionate about.
      Anyways, it’s comforting for me to find that I am not the only one out there who is overcome by emotion to the point where I become a blubbering fool. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and perspective 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Passion and compassion.
      I love writing because I can take my time and plan out my words. Of course, sometimes I let the writing lead me where it may, but mostly I can keep control over my emotions.
      In person, in the moment, as you say is totally different. I end up with my eyes starting to burn and my throat closing up. There is no more possibility of communicating clearly after that.
      It isn’t easy. You are right.

      Liked by 1 person

    Leave a Reply

    