It’s Coffee Time

Oh how I love this time with you in the weekend! This weekend let’s sit down for some cookies with our coffee. Fresh, warm cookies just out of the oven. I baked than just for you!

What have you benn up to this week? I had a relatively interesting week myself. It wasn’t too much out of the ordinary until the end of the week, but sometimes those are the best weeks to have. 

Most of this week I’ve been working on homework with the boy. Let me tell you, a 9 year old boy with ADHD and a bunch of homework is not a good mix for harmony in the home. We manage somehow and I’m sure 4th grade will get easier in a few week’s time. At least that is my hope. He is on medication and we are trying to adjust it to his optimal level. He is my work in progress and we will get there as a family but it takes a small suburb to raise this one and get him a good education. 

Work is progressing well. I’m working less at my newer job. I’ve had to relearn everything since returning a couple weeks ago. I do like it but I do miss seeing my little patients very much. I miss the autonomy I had with my old job but I don’t miss the stress or the crazy long hours. Once I know how to do this job well, I will love it. That much is sure.

My week ended in great fashion. A family wedding! What a wonderful celebration of love to be sure. It was simple and elegant. The church ceremony, a Catholic ceremony, was absolutely beautiful. You could see the couple beaming throughout the mass. They even took part as Eucharistic ministers during communion. What a truly lovely touch.

In between the mass and the festivities of the reception, we had 4 hours to kill and 2 college kids who just so happen to go to school down there. They needed a Target run. 

We piled into the minivan, had my dad and brother meet us at a restaurant near campus and had some lunch at Pickleman’s Deli. Yum! Delicicious subs and not too huge either. Well prices too! After lunch, we walked to the kids’ dorm and they checked us in to show grandpa and Uncle James the dorm. What a good time, especially since my dad went to the university in 1955 for his ophthalmalogy residency. Great chats ensued and fun was had as my brother and I reminisced about how easy these kids have it compared to our dorm rooms that didn’t even have air conditioning and were the size of postage stamps! And remember the party lines for the telephones?

We parted as dad and James drive around campus and we went off to Target. Hubs and I stayed in the car. Relaxation time for us. The kids, however, were in the store forever! An hour and a half later they emerged with there loot. Then back to the dorm to drop it all off. Then on to the reception. 

The reception was a blast! So many relatives, so little time! We introduced my daughter’s boyfriend to many of them who all remarked on his great height. He’s 6’5 and that side of the family averages 5’6. He was definitely the tallest one there. The kids and I danced, we visited, we are really well. And there we’re the famous pizelles. My Irish aunt, as we are all Irish, married an Italian and learned to make these delightful cookies. My favorite. I know the girls must have made them. They were scrumptous and even though there was a table full, Hubs and the boyfriend and my daughter’s wanted mine! Can you imagine? Shocking. Stealing one’s pizelles. No way unless I offer you one. Would you like one by the way?

Leave a Reply

