Agree to Disagree

Whatever happened to freedom of speech? Why is it that some people get so upset when they disagree with something someone posts on social media? Well, my friends, I’m sick of all the craziness. Why can’t we all just get along and agree to disagree? 

Recently, I did something I never do. I posted something on Facebook that was political. It was something that made me angry. A friend of mine commented and asked me to take it down. I have no idea what happened, but later, I looked and it was gone. What the heck? Indidnt remove it but someone must have complained about it. Regardless, it wasn’t even that bad. I don’t say anything that I wouldn’t say normally in normal company and this had to do with my profession. If it was not a true statement by said candidate then my apologies, but I’m still not impressed by that particular candidate. 

The thing is what makes it alright for everyone else to voice their opinions but not me? Why can’t we just be civil and disagree like adults? If I were saying something negative against the opposite candidate I known for a fact my comment would have been left alone. Again, what the heck? I’m more than a little annoyed by all this but not surprised. I’m simply asking my friends to respect my rights as an American citizen to voice my opinion and leave it alone. Enough said on that subject.

What has become of our nation? It was once perfectly alright to voice your opinion no matter which side of the political fence you were on. Now it seems that unless you are on the correct side of that fence you will offend someone and they will no longer value you in the same way they once did. What a sad state of affairs we have. That being said, I’m really not that enthused by either of the candidates this year but I will vote and let my voice be heard in the ballot box. Not here or on social media ever again. To all my “friends”, my opinion matters just as much as yours does even if I do happen to disagree with you on this one matter. Please let me have my right to share my opinions just as I let you have yours without complaint or comment. Just keep on scrolling if you don’t agree and keep it happy out there.

10 thoughts on “Agree to Disagree

  1. Bless your heart…I feel your pain…freedom to use your voice shouldn’t be something you should have to fight for…whether it has to do with politics or anything else…you are such a good-hearted person and we need your contributions 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. it has become an outrage that we are no longer allowed to express ourselves without being verbally and sometimes physically attacked for it. America seems to have become a nation of “you can only say what I think”. It’s so disheartening for people like me that marched for particular freedoms to see them being stomped upon by people who are so self-centered and argumentative. I feel for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. And I thought it was just me? (Excluding the opinion of those persons that condone harming others or other senseless acts) There definitely seems to be a double standard with ANY opinion it seems we as americans may voice that differs from the masses of the media. Not feeling too american these days!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly my friend. That’s why I decided that blogging was my best outlet. Here, I have my freedom of speech and if those who don’t like what I have to say choose, they don’t have to read it. If they have something to say, I will gladly read their comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I give you my full support. I have been following what’s going on in your society and many of the values are slipping off. I have wondered aloud if this great country is not losing her position as moral leader of the world. I hear lies told; I see people who lack integrity, who have distorted views being lifted to very high positions. I just can’t believe it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

