New Me in 17

It’s the new year and I’m starting it with changes as many people do. My hubs turns the big 5-0 this year and we have both been wanting to get healthy and lose weight. It’s been a long time coming.  Now with his big birthday approaching, we are finally getting serious about making the necessary changes for our health.

I always hear about people who want or need to lose 10 or 20 pounds and I can tell you that I remember those days. In 2012-13, I lost 80 pounds. Unfortunately, after my mom died, I gained 40 of those precious lost pounds back over the next year. I really wasn’t finished losing weight. I was still fat, but not as big as I had been. Thank the good Lord above!  

I’ve been contemplating many things over the last few months. I’m tired of being tired. I’m tired of having pain in my knees. I’m tired of having no energy. Guess what! I made the decision over this time, part of my weight loss process, to really do something about it. It’s time to get serious.

Hubs must be on the same wavelength these days with the big birthday coming up on July. Granted, he is not anywhere as overweight as me, but he could lose some and his health would be exponentially improved. He is hypertensive and a non-insulin diabetic for the last few years. Losing just 20-30 pounds could conceivably eliminate his need for medications. Turning 50 seems to finally have him serious about his health. You can’t imagine how happy that makes me. I’ve been wanting him to make some of these lifestyle changes for the last 10 years. I love him and want him around for a long time.

Today is the new beginning, the new dawn for our new life. Surprisingly, it went very well. I’ve made my chart, another part of my process, and I plotted out my weeks and goals. This time, I added hubs to my chart. Woo-hoo! 

My overall goal is staggering, but in small increments I shall conquer each new goal. Hubs has it easy in comparison. I not only have to lose the 40 that I regained but also another 50 to make my final goal. I’ll be left with a tummy that will sag and have to be tucked in, thanks to having 4 kids, but the rest of my skin is still in good shape. If and when I succeed, that will bring my total weight loss to 125 pounds. 

I know most people can’t imagine having to lose this, but I love this and I’m coming clean. I’ve never published my weight loss journey before, but this time is different. This time I am a blogger and I figured that maybe some of you will appreciate the struggles and successes of this journey. 

This is my story. This is the beginning of my transformation.  If you’d like to join me please feel free to tell me your story. We can support each other. Below are my before pictures taken this evening. 

Love and peace!

Deirdre 

241.6

1/7/17

Leave a Reply

